The Positives and Negatives of Attending Church

When I was young, my parents would always take me to church. Now, I understand this completely when I was a small child. Obviously, it wasn’t my choice to go. The problem I had was when I was old enough to make my own decisions and I was dragged (literally) out my door, because I had to attend church. This small and harsh discipline led to me denying my faith later on and literally running from church. I did everything humanly possible to be as far away from my parents as possible. I even became an Atheist for a short time.

There is nothing positive out of forcing someone who is old enough (when they can be left in the house alone) to go to church. You are no longer shedding a positive light on your faith, or what Christians look like. You are actually giving a bad example. You actually push your children away from the church by doing this. Please, if you are a parent, and you have taken your child to church and that child is now old enough and doesn’t want to go… For Heaven’s sake, don’t force them. They will resent you and everything you stand for if you do.

There are so many positives to be found by attending church. If the church is actually Christ lead, it will be welcoming to all people. Including LGBT, the homeless, the widows, the divorced, everyone. Christ’s most profound law is to love. To love in a such a way where your own opinions don’t matter anymore, all that matters is the other person’s feelings and the other person’s heart. Don’t hurt your neighbor. They are your family. We are all one race. As the church, the body of Christ, we are called to be one. Just as the trinity is One. They are multiple beings all striving for the same goal, all creating together and working together to better humanity and all of creation.

Church brings together the people in a way that only gathering can do. There isn’t supposed to be such divisions among the churches. Breaking into denominations is one of the things I like least about the church. It shouldn’t be doing this. We are all Christian. Which makes us family. Stop attacking your family.

Leave a Reply

